About the Library

Reference librarians can assist with research projects. 

Computers and quiet study areas are available on the upper level. 

Study pods, tables, desks and carrels offer many options for quiet study.

The Scoville Learning Center offers displays of the college's contemporary art collection. 

The Hill Collection local history room is located on the main floor of the Scoville Learning Center. 

LIBRARY SERVICES DESK

The Library Services (Circulation) Desk is on the main floor, near the library's entrance. Go here to:

• borrow books. Books can be borrowed for four months (16 weeks) with a photo ID. 
• graphing calculators are available to loan (3 hours)
• ask general questions about the library. 

COPY ROOM AND PRINTING 

• Use the book scanner to email images or save them to a USB drive. There is no cost.
• The copy machine costs ten cents per page or is free if scanned to a USB drive. The  Library Services Desk staff can provide change and assistance.
• Students can print from networked computers in the IT lab and library research help area and group study rooms. Print limit: 20 sheets at a time. 

OTHER LEARNING RESOURCES
The library space is also home to services run by other areas of the college:

• Student computer lab, with a student-run IT Help Desk for technology questions;
• The Center for Reading and Writing (CRW), run by English Division faculty; 
• The Math Lab; run by Mathematics Division faculty

HILL COLLECTION (MAIN LEVEL)

• The Hill Collection is a research collection of more than 1,600 locally-significant historical books including volumes of the papers of Sir William Johnson, diaries, pamphlets, letters, clippings, manuscripts and other material. Its primary focus is the regional history of the Glens Falls area (Warren, Washington and Saratoga Counties, the Revolutionary and French and Indian Wars). The material dates from the mid-eighteenth century to the present.  

REFERENCE LIBRARIANS AND RESEARCH HELP DESK

• Reference librarians are available to assist with research needs. Just stop by the Research Help Desk on the upper level of the Scoville Learning Center, or contact a librarian for research assistance at librarian@sunyacc.edu.
• At the Research Help Desk, you can also borrow reserve materials (for library use only), or borrow books. Most books can be borrowed for four months (16 weeks) with a photo ID. 
• Reserve books (most are textbooks from heavily-enrolled courses, usually) are located on shelves opposite the Research Help Desk. They may be brought to the copy room on the main floor for scanning. 

RESEARCH HELP AREA COMPUTERS

• A librarian is available at the Research Help Desk to assist with any research questions. 
• To use these computers, community members can obtain a community borrower card from the Library Services Desk. The librarian at the Research Help Desk will get the community member logged in to a computer. Printing is not available for community members. 



QUIET STUDY AREA

• The entire upper level is a quiet study area with a variety of seating. It's a great spot to study!
• This area is a whisper zone. Please keep any conversations brief and at very low volume. 
• Students who need to chat can reserve study rooms. 

GROUP STUDY ROOMS AND INDIVIDUAL STUDY ROOMS

• Three group study rooms are available to groups of students. Each study room has a large display screen with one permanent computer and the ability to link up to three devices.
• Two smaller, glass individual study rooms are now available at the north end of the upper level. 
• Sign up for these study rooms here:

PERIODICALS

• The library subscribes to a selection of print magazines, journals and newspapers, spread across the short book shelves.
• Students can read these in the library.
• More than 134,000 online magazines, journals and newspapers are available through 120 databases on the library's website.
  • Off-campus access is available to students, faculty and staff.
  • Community members can visit the library to use databases. 

Here's the complete list of periodicals: 

BOOKS

• Approximately 34,314 print books are on the shelves. They may be borrowed for four months with a photo ID.
• The library also subscribes to more than 275,000 electronically-available books, available through the library's databases. 

LIBRARY INSTRUCTION CLASSROOM

• Our library instruction classroom is located upstairs, in Scoville 325. Students learn how to search book and article databases and find high-quality information during class research sessions taught by librarians.

ARTWORK 

• Our walls feature art created by faculty, former students and internationally known figures such as William Bronk, Herman Maril and Alex Rapoport.
• Information about the artwork is on SUNY’s digital repository, DSpace.