Searching for books and articles with Library of Congress Subject Headings can give you more focused results. Examples:
Archaeology -- Methodology Archaeology -- Social Aspects North America -- Antiquities
Archaeology -- History -- 20th Century Excavations (Archaeology) -- Case Studies Anthropology -- Philosophy
Search tips:
To find books using subjects that can have variant endings, use truncation, or wildcard endings. This technique looks for any ending of a word after a symbol, usually an asterisk. Not sure if a book is listed by the terms "Medicine" or "Medical"? Type in "medic* anthropology" to retrieve books about both Medical Anthropology and the Anthropology of Medicine.
You may also search for names (Jane Goodall) and other specific topics. Consult a librarian if you are not finding what you need.
Welcome to the SUNY Adirondack Library's research guide on Anthropology and Archaeology!
The subjects below work well to find books in the SUNY Adirondack Library. You can copy and paste these subjects into the search box on the library's home page.
Excavations (Archaeology)
Underwater archaeology
Shipwrecks
Geography
Manners and customs
North America antiquities
Archaeology maps
Rock paintings
Bones
Archaeologists
Physical anthropology
Cultural anthropology
Anthropology
Ethnology
Petroglyphs
Indians of North America
Egypt antiquities
Human beings -- Migrations
Human population genetics
To find books on two overlapping topics, use the word "and", with keyword search mode: “Middle East and antiquities,” for instance. This technique is called Boolean logic.
Archaeology by 
Into the Planet by 
Homo Deus by For an overview of your topic, search the Gale eBooks database, offering chapters from 700+ encyclopedias:
Here are some of the 700+ ebooks in the Gale eBooks database:
Ancient Europe, 8000 B. C. to A. D. 1000 by 
Ancient Greece by 
Creation Myths of the World by 
Encyclopedia of Body Adornment by 
Fashion, Costume, and Culture by 
Folklore by 
Handbook of Ancient Religions by Find these books on the second floor of the Library. They cannot be borrowed, but are always in the library to use.
The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Archaeology by 
Encyclopedia of Archaeology by 
Archaeological Encyclopedia of the Holy Land by 
History of Physical Anthropology by 
Encyclopedia of Human Evolution and Prehistory by 
World Folklore for Storytellers by 