Skip to Main Content

ENG 252: Introduction to Film: Articles

Search for Articles with the "Start Your Research Here" Search Box


   Start Your Research Here:   

  1. Use the "Start Your Research Here" box and limit to Articles. 
  2. To find  film studies-related articles, do a more specific Advanced Search: [Title of film] AND critic* 
    • ​The wildcard or truncation symbol, the asterisk (*), finds all word endings: critic, critics, critical, criticism, etc. 
  3. You can also do a more in-depth search using one of  article databases listed below, such as JSTOR. 

Article Databases

Use these databases to find articles about the motion picture industry, movie reviews, film criticism, and the history of film.

Contains scholarly journal articles covering film criticism, communication, and the performing arts. 

Provides access to the full text of scholarly journals, general interest and news magazines, and trade publications. 

Search Academic Search Complete, Humanities Source, MasterFILE Premier, and Newspaper Source databases to find full-text articles. 

Search millions of articles about drama, music, art history, and filmmaking. 

Contains full-text articles, maps, photographs and other images, as well as a variety of primary source documents, covering U.S. history. Topics include events and biographies of historically significant people.

Online Periodicals about Films Studies

Library Database Search Tips

Library Database search Tips 1) Advanced Search AND overlaps subjects Called Boolean logic George Boole (1815–1864) (image shows two overlapping circles) sleep AND learning 2) truncation Looks for all word endings Star is wildcard symbol asterisk (*) - shift/8 psych* finds psychology psychological psychologist etc. 3) Phrase search Search two or more words together Makes search more precise Use quotation marks "community college" "New York" "United States"

Accessibility Statement